The Book Tag

a_traveller suggested I do this tag. She found it here. And I’m glad she did. Took me down memory lane. So here goes…

1. Favorite childhood book?
The Wishing Chair by Enid Blyton

2. What are you reading right now?
The Story of My Assassins by Tarun Tejpal

3. Bad book habit?
Glossing over boring, long-winded text

4. Do you have an e-reader?
Resisting it.

5. Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once?
Avoid reading multiple books simultaneously, unless the book takes me a while to read. I then put it away for a bit and get on to something else.

6. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Not particularly.

7. Least favorite book you read this year (so far)?
Keep off the Grass by Karan Bajaj

8. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
Window Seat by Janhavi Acharekar

9. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Not too often.

10. What is your reading comfort zone?
Indian fiction

11. Can you read on the bus?
Absolutely

12. Favorite place to read?
On the parapet overlooking the window

13. What is your policy on book lending?
Only to folks who I know will handle it with care and remember to return it

14. Do you ever dog-ear books?
Never. Get extremely annoyed when people do

15. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
No way!

16. Not even with text books?
Only in college

17. What is your favorite language to read in?
English

18. What makes you love a book?
Characters and plot

19. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
What I remember of the book

20. Favorite genre?
Indian fiction / Literature

21. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
Non-fiction

22. Favorite biography?
Anne Frank

23. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Yup

24. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson

25. Favorite reading snack?
Khakhra

26. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
The White Tiger by Arvind Adiga

27. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
Haven’t ever cared about it

28. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I’d rather be honest

29. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Bengali. (tis foreign enough for me)

30. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

31. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
Any book by Somerset Maugham

32. Favorite Poet?
Never really cared much for poetry although I read a few stray poems here and there

33. Favorite fictional character?
Oliver Barrett IV

34. Favorite fictional villain?
No one comes to mind

35. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
The most recent purchase

36. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
A few weeks

37. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
1984 by George Orwell

38. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Noise

39. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
Kite Runner /  The Blue Umbrella (short story) / The Devil Wears Prada

40. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Nothing comes to mind

41. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?
Not too much. I usually buy only one or two books at a time.

42. How often do you skim a book before reading it?
I either want to read it or I don’t.

43. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?
A dull and/or clichéd plot

44. Do you like to keep your books organized?
Very much

45. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
I used to want to keep them. Now I don’t mind giving them away, barring a few special titles

46. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?
Sci-fi, fanstasy

47. Name a book that made you angry.
Everybody Loves a Good Drought by P. Sainath

48. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
Catch 22. Loved it.

49. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
Family Matters by Rohinton Mistry

50. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
The Shopaholic series, The Devil Wears Prada, Danielle Steels

4 comments

  1. Fuzzy Logic

    I loved the Wishing Chair too! But I preferred the Faraway Tree.
    I used to resist, quite strongly, against an e-reader, but in all practicality, it’ll be lighter to carry around to college when I need to read in the bus.

  2. crimsonshadows

    I read Wishing Chair before I did Faraway Tree. So the former is more special. And for some reason, reading the latter always made me hungry.

    An e-reader would be lighter, yes. But there is something about holding a book in your hands and feeling the print and pages whilst turning them. I am old-school like that.

    And thanks for stopping by. Made my day.

Leave a Reply

