A Haven To Heal

Anniversary wishes for the folks.

On the few occasions that the father actually scolds or reprimands me, the mother will jump to my defense. And I will take a few steps back to watch the hilarity that ensues. The father will be slightly agitated and the mother, perplexed, as to why this agitation and the subsequent frustration. She might not always side with me but she will question the situation and, yes, his judgment too.

Each night, it is pandemonium at home, once I return from work and the mother recruits the father and me in the kitchen to add the final touches to dinner and clean up. I’m bursting to share all what has transpired with me during the course of the day, she wants to get the dinner on the table at the earliest. The father is on standby to play referee and soothe ruffled feathers, if any.

Sunday mornings are what the mother lives for. The luxury of skipping the morning walk and the promise of a leisurely breakfast. Followed by lunch, the only one in the week that we eat together.

And for those few moments, everything is right in my world. Deadlines at work slip away into distant memory, my commute to work lies forgotten and the new handbag that I’ve been lusting for, for weeks, fades away into insignificance. There is nothing more I could possibly want in those moments. Except perhaps that I could bottle them up in a tiny glass bottle and inhale these memories at will.

We fight bitter, sometimes until the tears run out. We will slam doors. And throw indiscriminate words.  Some days, I will leave for work with a frown, be fine the whole day and return home with the frown plastered on my face. During the course of my day, I will probably get busy at work and might forget the reason for my sulking. But then I remember that I am yet to be placated. So I persist with the sulk, until I’m duly mollified……Continue reading

*First published on Parentous.

**Again, the kind folks at Parentous graciously agreed to schedule this post in time for the parents’ anniversary today. Thank you, Team Parentous. You guys are awesome. 

Leave a Reply

