Atop a mountain with me

Come sit atop a mountain with me.
Let me put my hand into yours as you hoist me up a slippery patch.
Let my nails pierce your skin as I refuse to let go.
Let the exasperation on your face show as you urge me to move forward, slowly, carefully.
Hold me as I steady my breath and prepare to plop myself on a nearby rock.Lean in to me as you make yourself comfortable next to me and wipe the sweat off both our faces.
Lock your fingers into mine as we stare into the sunset and grin foolishly.
Let the day’s trappings melt away into nothingness as we make our way back, lighter, happier.
Come sit atop a mountain with me?

Leave a Reply

