When a few random people from Twitter helped me

About 10 days ago, the mother requested me to send her an old phone of mine via courier. Hers was about to conk off and she needed a replacement urgently. She uttered the word, “courier” and then corrected herself in an instant. “How about we try to find someone travelling from Bangalore to Bombay, via Twitter?” she asked. I offered to ask around and let her know.

Ten minutes later, I sent out a tweet to the universe requesting help. And the RTs came pouring in (64, at last count)! Soon I was flooded with DMs offering help, replete with travel dates, details of where I need to drop it off and the location the folks would need to collect it from. I just had to make a choice. Mostly the location in Bombay was being a bit of a bother. But not one person declined.

One kind soul asked me, “How will you assess if the person is trustworthy? Conduct an online background check?” I replied, “Faith! It’s either that or having to rely on a courier agency. He agreed with me.

We did the round of some courier agencies as well. But were a little reluctant to use their services. So we decided to wait it out. For someone who was travelling to Bombay, and in an area close to home, to make it easier for the parents to collect the phone.

I sent out a prayer to the universe and forgot all about it. At least pretended to. And then landed a DM in the inbox, referencing a location just a 10 minute walk away from home. That sealed it! I couldn’t have asked for anything better.

He offered to play courier and a little over 24 hours later, the phone was home.

That night, I went to bed extremely grateful and content with the world. My hostility with the world could rest a bit!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

